top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekasandra hila

Leaving Physics Class

POV Kasandra

It's 10:00 AM and I am in the Physics class.

Ughh, I do not like this class today. Do not get me wrong, I am a good student with straight As but today I wish I can just leave. Can someone save me, please? :(

*Someone knocks on the door* - My Saviour arrived.

It's school's secretary and she is asking if someone wants to participate right now in the first phase of National Writing Competition which was competing with everyone in my school and only one winner would be chosen. I do not like writing but this is my only chance to leave this class...

- I want to participate!

Some started laughing, the others are shocked as why I am participating to this knowing it well that my strength are numbers not words. But who cares, I am not participating to win and I know for sure that I will not even pass the first phase but as long as I do not listen to Newton's Laws, it's a win for me.


Here I am, with the examination paper in front of me asking me to write 3 essays. Why did I do this to myself?

After 2 hours writing, with no idea of what I was writing I came back to my class happy that I had escaped from Physics.


*1 month later*


9:00 AM- Albanian Literature Class

The teacher enters the class.

- Kasandra the principal is calling you. You may leave the class!

Wait, what? Why? What did I do? I am having a panic attack. I have never been called to the principal's office.


Knock, Knock!!! - Come in!

The principal might have noticed my pale face and tells me right away that I had won the first phase of the National Writing Competition and now I should go to compete in the second one and represent the school in the district level.

I am shocked but also relieved. At least I didn't do something bad. But wait what? How did I win? Oh well, it doesn't matter as I am not going to the next phase.


*2 months later* - Phase 2 of "National Writing Competition"


Okay, I know I told you that I was not going, but my teacher forced me to come. She even "threatened" me that she will not give me an A anymore if I did not participate. Can you imagine that? I told her 100 of times that I do not want to embarrass the school with my poor performance but she did not listen to me. Apparently she believes in me. Let her face the consequences now.


As I am writing I feel nothing, no excitement, no fear, nothing. I know I am not good at writing so I am not making myself believe otherwise just because I won the first phase.


*1 month later*

- Congrats Kasandra, you are the winner of phase 2 as well. Now, you will represent our district at the final phase. Make us proud! - my principal tells me.


Okay, I might have agreed to compete until now, but I am not, for any reason going to the final phase. There is no point to waste time for something I know I will not win.


*2 months later*

My school's President comes to pick me up and drive me to the capital city of Albania to participate on the final phase. How could I say no to him? Again, I am forced to go. When I am there, I hear other students discussing with each other how they had already won a couple of writing competitions, or writing books and stuff and I feel ashamed and try to avoid talking with them.


*1 month later*

It's 10 PM. I am ready to go to bed as I have school tomorrow, when I see my phone ringing. Who is calling me at this time? I don't have a boyfriend, my parents are home, my sisters are home as well, so no one should be calling me right now. And then my heart stops when I see principal's phone number in my screen. I managed to answer the phone while my whole body was shaking.

She starts talking very seriously and tells me that there is an important topic she wants to discuss. And then she stops. Another panic attack!!!!

- An important email came to me right now and it shows that you are the Official Winner of the "Albania National Writing Competition". Congratulations and thank you for representing our school well.

I am shockedddd!!! Me winning a writing competition? Unbelievable! I guess I do have some talent in writing after all. And, I wouldn't have known this If I didn't try or having people believe in me that I could do it.

I can't believe it!!!

Oh well, at least this doesn't make me feel that bad for leaving my Physic class that day. :)






19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page