top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekasandra hila

Because every picture has a story to tell....

I love taking pictures as I see them as a way to express myself, my thoughts or emotions through them. It is amazing what lenses can capture in a split of a second. I do believe that every picture has a story to tell, either directly or maybe somewhere there hidden in shapes, colours, people or objects.


What does this picture tell me?

First of all this is a picture I took in October 2019, at the "New England Aquarium" in Boston, MA. There is a quote from one of my favourite books that always comes into my mind whenever I see this picture which is: “Darkness can't drive out darkness only light can do that. Hate can't drive out hate only love can do that.”― Kami Garcia Margaret Stohl, Beautiful Creatures

And I think there is no better explanation for this picture than this quote.




However, let me just analyze it in a simpler way through the 3 tools:


Modality:

A very simple picture where there is only one character which is the jellyfish surrounded in darkness.


Verisimilitude

The picture is very real as all the details of the jellyfish can be seen and there are no other elements that can distract the image. There are real and simple colours that contribute to its realness too.


Claim about the world

The way I see this picture is as something that brings hope. There will always be darkness no matter what but there is always hope that we can find the light either in ourselves our somewhere around us that will drive out this darkness. I do believe that the message that this jellyfish is trying to give us is that we are able to light into darkness and if we wanna survive we need to find that light inside us and light the way to a better life.




35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page